Copyright

(c) 2010-2026 Jon L Gelman, All Rights Reserved.

Friday, November 6, 2026

Right Result, Wrong Clock

An injured worker can win the statute-of-limitations argument and still lose the case. That is the lesson of Tighe v. Tighe Landscape Design, Inc., No. A-0915-24, 2026 WL 3298223 (App. Div. Nov. 2, 2026) (unpublished). The Appellate Division held that the judge of compensation measured a reopener against the wrong limitations clock, then affirmed the dismissal anyway because the petitioner never proved his disability had worsened.



The Facts

John Tighe, a landscaper working for his brother's company, fell from a truck bed onto boulders on October 27, 2015. He had right shoulder surgery that November and was discharged from care in November 2016. In July 2018 the parties settled at 31% partial total disability for the right shoulder, 186 weeks totaling $71,063.16. The last payment was made on June 15, 2020.

On August 14, 2020, about two months later, Tighe applied for review or modification under N.J.S.A. 34:15-27. Amendments followed, first adding derivative right carpal tunnel syndrome and then the cervical spine after an EMG showed a mild right C7 radiculopathy. He also filed a new occupational claim alleging cervical injury from repetitive work between 1981 and 2015. The employer cross-moved to dismiss on statute-of-limitations and burden-of-proof grounds. Tighe filed no opposition and, after the record closed, no summation brief.

The Clock the Judge Used

The judge of compensation found that Tighe's radicular symptoms began after the 2015 surgery. Because the original petition and award covered only the right shoulder, she held that he could not add the neck, arm, or carpal tunnel conditions on reopener. In her view, he had two years from the date he "knew or should have known" those complaints were work-related, at the latest two years from his 2016 discharge, to amend the original petition. She dismissed both the reopener and the occupational claim.

The Appellate Division rejected that reasoning. New Jersey law runs three separate two-year clocks:

•     Traumatic claims, N.J.S.A. 34:15-51: two years from the accident, or from the last payment of compensation.

•     Occupational disease, N.J.S.A. 34:15-34: two years from the date the claimant first knew the nature of the disability and its relation to the employment.

•     Reopeners, N.J.S.A. 34:15-27: two years from the last payment on the award, on the ground that the incapacity has increased.

The "knew or should have known" standard, the panel said, comes from the occupational disease section and has no place in a reopener of a traumatic award. The judge's rule that only conditions pled in the original claim can be reopened was "contrary to binding precedent." Under Yeomans v. Jersey City, 27 N.J. 496, 509 (1958), "it is only essential that the petitioner show a subsequent increase in the extent of his incapacity arising from, and causally connected with, the same trauma complained of in his original petition." In Yeomans, an award for back, chest, and arm injuries was reopened for a heart condition. Svec v. Westfield Motor Sales Co., 110 N.J. Super. 225, 228 (App. Div. 1970), adds that the involvement of a different bodily unit does not defeat a reopener.

A spinal or nerve injury causally related to the 2015 accident was therefore a proper subject for reopener, and a filing two months after the last payment was timely. The two-year period of Section 27 is jurisdictional, Bey v. Truss Systems, Inc., 360 N.J. Super. 324, 327 (App. Div. 2003), but it runs from the last payment, not from the day a worker first notices a new symptom.

The Burden That Decided It

Timeliness opens the door. It does not carry the petitioner through it. Section 27 limits reopeners to cases where "the incapacity of the injured employee has subsequently increased." Under Yeomans, the original award is res judicata as to the nature and extent of the disability that then existed, and "a subsequent change in the extent of incapacity is the sine qua non to the exercise of the Division's continuing jurisdiction." The petitioner carries the burden of proving that change.

Tighe's own record defeated him. The judge compared his descriptions of his symptoms in 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2022 and found them essentially the same. He described a material worsening only when led by counsel at the August 2022 hearing and in a June 2023 certification. She credited the consistent history he gave his doctors over statements made for litigation. At the November 2023 hearing, Tighe's counsel stipulated that the radiculopathy was present in 2017, before the settlement. His own expert, Dr. Matthew Tormenti, testified that the symptoms "started after the accident and have been persistent throughout," and explained the late diagnosis by suggesting the shoulder injury had masked the spinal problem, not that the condition had progressed. The employer called no expert, so the decision rested entirely on the petitioner's own evidence.

The occupational claim failed on the same record. The judge found that Tighe never related his radicular symptoms to his work duties, so he did not carry his burden of proving causation under N.J.S.A. 34:15-34. The panel affirmed the dismissal in full.

The Court's Rationale

Three threads hold the opinion together.

Deference to fact-finding. Under McGory v. SLS Landscaping, 463 N.J. Super. 437, 452 (App. Div. 2020), and Hersh v. County of Morris, 217 N.J. 236, 242 (2014), a compensation judge's findings stand unless "manifestly unsupported by or inconsistent with competent relevant and reasonable credible evidence." Legal conclusions get no deference, so the limitations ruling fell. The no-worsening finding was factual, supported by the record, and unchallenged on appeal. Because it was an independent alternative ground for dismissal, the legal error did not change the outcome.

Jurisdiction before treatment. Tighe argued that his motion for medical treatment became a surprise trial on permanency. The panel disagreed. The judge decided the threshold jurisdictional questions raised by the employer's pending cross-motion. Ramos v. M & F Fashions, Inc., 154 N.J. 583 (1998), which warns against fixing permanency while a condition is still evolving, did not apply, because the question was whether the Division had continuing jurisdiction at all. Tighe cited no authority requiring a judge to rule on treatment before deciding whether a reopener is viable.

Due process satisfied. Due process requires notice and a meaningful opportunity to be heard. Tighe had both. The cross-motion was filed months before the final hearing, and he neither opposed it nor filed a summation. He testified, presented his expert, and submitted other medical reports. The panel rejected his claim of "trial by ambush."

What It Means for Injured Workers

•     A reopener filed within two years of the last payment is timely even when it adds a new body part, so long as medical causation ties that part to the original accident. The occupational disease knowledge rule does not apply.

•     Timeliness is not proof. Petitioners need medical evidence of an objective change since the award, ideally comparative findings, not an expert who says the symptoms have been "persistent throughout."

•     Stipulations can be fatal. Conceding that a condition existed before the settlement concedes that it was part of the disability already adjudicated.

•     Answer every dispositive motion and file the summation brief. Silence on a cross-motion to dismiss undercuts any later claim of surprise.

•     Medical histories drive credibility. Consistent complaints to treating providers will outweigh testimony of worsening that first appears at trial.

Tighe is unpublished and binds no one under R. 1:36-3, but its correction of the limitations analysis restates Yeomans, which binds everyone. Tighe had the timeliness rule on his side. He lacked proof that anything had changed.

Sources

1.     Tighe v. Tighe Landscape Design, Inc., No. A-0915-24, 2026 WL 3298223 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. Nov. 2, 2026) (unpublished).

2.     Yeomans v. Jersey City, 27 N.J. 496, 143 A.2d 174 (1958).

3.     Svec v. Westfield Motor Sales Co., 110 N.J. Super. 225, 265 A.2d 157 (App. Div. 1970).

4.     Bey v. Truss Systems, Inc., 360 N.J. Super. 324, 823 A.2d 58 (App. Div. 2003).

5.     McGory v. SLS Landscaping, 463 N.J. Super. 437 (App. Div. 2020).

6.     Hersh v. County of Morris, 217 N.J. 236, 86 A.3d 140 (2014).

7.     Ramos v. M & F Fashions, Inc., 154 N.J. 583, 713 A.2d 486 (1998).

8.     N.J.S.A. 34:15-27, Modification of agreement.

9.     N.J.S.A. 34:15-34, Time for claiming compensation for occupational disease.

10.  N.J.S.A. 34:15-51, Filing of petition; two-year limit.


Recommended Citation

Jon L. Gelman, Right Result, Wrong Clock, Workers' Compensation (workers-compensation.blogspot.com) (Nov. 3, 2026), https://workers-compensation.blogspot.com/2026/11/right-result-wrong-clock.html.

About the Author

Jon L. Gelman of Wayne, NJ, is the author of NJ Workers' Compensation Law (West-Thomson-Reuters) and co-author of the national treatise Modern Workers' Compensation Law (West-Thomson-Reuters).


© 2026 Jon L Gelman. All rights reserved.
Attorney Advertising
Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.
Disclaimer
Download Adobe Reader